How do you switch to Merge mode?

Get help with running Romcenter 3 here. Please do not post roms requests or illegal links, posts will be deleted.

Moderators: Wanderer, Logiqx, Iron Man

Forum rules
No roms requests or illegal links
NewYears1978

How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by NewYears1978 » Thu Dec 17, 2015 10:27 am

I am new to RC, someone suggested it for combining roms with the same name (revisions, beta, etc). I have loaded the Data file and my roms and done fixes to rename stuff and get it all Green, however now I want to merge but the merge options are greyed out in the Preferences menu...how can I switch?

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by RomCenter » Thu Dec 17, 2015 10:05 pm

Which version of romcenter ?
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

NewYears1978

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by NewYears1978 » Fri Dec 18, 2015 1:56 am

3.x because 4.x crashed for me when I loaded my rom folders for some reason.

NewYears1978
PacMan
PacMan
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:11 am

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by NewYears1978 » Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:12 am

NewYears1978 wrote:3.x because 4.x crashed for me when I loaded my rom folders for some reason.
For clarification, when I run 4.0 and load my RC dat file, it says the dat file is incorrect type (but it loaded in 3.0 fine)

NewYears1978
PacMan
PacMan
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:11 am

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by NewYears1978 » Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:19 am

NewYears1978 wrote:3.x because 4.x crashed for me when I loaded my rom folders for some reason.
Er, I mean it crashed when I loaded the data file it says invalid datafile.

User avatar
Wanderer
Board master
Board master
Posts: 645
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2001 10:37 am
Location: Floating around

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by Wanderer » Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:49 am

NewYears1978 wrote:For clarification, when I run 4.0 and load my RC dat file, it says the dat file is incorrect type (but it loaded in 3.0 fine)
Hi there and welcome to the forum.

Try this thread, it may be helpful.
- Wanderer -

For Romcenter bug reporting or enhancement requests, click here.

NewYears1978
PacMan
PacMan
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:11 am

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by NewYears1978 » Fri Dec 18, 2015 7:02 pm

Wanderer wrote:
NewYears1978 wrote:For clarification, when I run 4.0 and load my RC dat file, it says the dat file is incorrect type (but it loaded in 3.0 fine)
Hi there and welcome to the forum.

Try this thread, it may be helpful.
Thanks I will try that after work tonight :)

Sorry for double post above, I didn't realize my post went into moderation and thought it had just not sent so I Posted twice..woops.

User avatar
Wanderer
Board master
Board master
Posts: 645
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2001 10:37 am
Location: Floating around

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by Wanderer » Fri Dec 18, 2015 9:37 pm

NewYears1978 wrote:Sorry for double post above, I didn't realize my post went into moderation and thought it had just not sent so I Posted twice..woops.
No problem. From now on (or maybe you need a couple more posts, i don't remember) you'll be able to post directly, without moderation. :)
- Wanderer -

For Romcenter bug reporting or enhancement requests, click here.

NewYears1978
PacMan
PacMan
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:11 am

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by NewYears1978 » Sat Dec 19, 2015 3:34 am

Wanderer wrote:
NewYears1978 wrote:Sorry for double post above, I didn't realize my post went into moderation and thought it had just not sent so I Posted twice..woops.
No problem. From now on (or maybe you need a couple more posts, i don't remember) you'll be able to post directly, without moderation. :)
Cool :) No worries - trying your approach now I will let you know how it works!

Okay I am confused, all this is new to me..the part about mame based EXE I have no clue what that is. I am working with SNES files. (I think I figured it out, standby, lol)

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by RomCenter » Sat Dec 19, 2015 7:40 am

Can you upload the dat you use ? I want to give a try with rc4.
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

NewYears1978
PacMan
PacMan
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 2:11 am

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by NewYears1978 » Wed Dec 23, 2015 5:14 am

RomCenter wrote:Can you upload the dat you use ? I want to give a try with rc4.
Sorry for slow reply, been away for a couple days.

I can't remember which dat file it was now, all the ones I was trying were from dat-o-matic, but someone has told me to use datfiles from Hyperlist instead for best results..but I am still having errors in RC4 :\

Might have to stick to RC3 for now. (posted a thread about my error already in RC4 support)

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: How do you switch to Merge mode?

Post by RomCenter » Wed Dec 23, 2015 9:14 pm

No intro still delivers dat in old rc2 format. It is not supported yet in rc4. I will add that in next version.
Maybe that's the pb.
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests