Localization bug & compress function not working

Get help with running Romcenter 3 here. Please do not post roms requests or illegal links, posts will be deleted.

Moderators: Wanderer, Logiqx, Iron Man

Forum rules
No roms requests or illegal links
A user

Localization bug & compress function not working

Post by A user » Fri May 19, 2017 1:01 pm

I'm currently still using 3.7.1 to rename my files. There are two things I noticed that don't work correctly and I'm not sure why:

1) I'm using a German Windows 7. Even though I never told RomCenter to use the German translation it does so for the most part, but many error messages still show up in French or English. It's totally irritating and I'd rather have it all in English then. How can I do so? Can I simply delete everything in the languages folder?

2) I have a lot of unpacked MAME ROMs in a folder. I thought choosing all files that correspond to one game and using the compress function would result in a ZIP file, but nothing happens. I do have an admin and a user account on my Windows and thought it might be an issue with the file permissions, tried using RomCenter with both accounts, but it still won't compress the files. Am I even using this function correctly or is it just to re-compress already existing ZIP files?

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Localization bug & compress function not working

Post by RomCenter » Sat May 20, 2017 7:49 am

Hi

1 - You can safely delete or rename the german language file. Rc will fall back to English.
2 - Rezip will re-compress already compressed files. You can't actually
zip unzipped folders. This will be added in a future version.

Btw, I recommend using rc4 now. It is stable and rc3 is no more up to date with latest mame releases.
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

A user

Re: Localization bug & compress function not working

Post by A user » Thu Jun 01, 2017 11:37 am

Thanks.

I tried rc4 recently, but it won't work. If I start it as user, I get an error message. If I right-click and start it as admin, it just shows the splash screen that keeps on loading forever.

Image
upload image

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Localization bug & compress function not working

Post by RomCenter » Fri Jun 09, 2017 7:15 pm

Hi
Please give a try to the new beta 11 coming this weekend.
Report a bug if it still occurs.

Thanks
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests