RomCenter 3.00 alpha 5 released

Romcenter 4 support discussion. Please do not post roms requests or illegal links, posts will be deleted.

Moderators: Wanderer, Logiqx, Iron Man

Forum rules
No roms requests or illegal links
User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

RomCenter 3.00 alpha 5 released

Post by RomCenter » Wed Jul 04, 2007 7:25 am

Version 3.00 alpha 5 released

This is a test only version and should not be used on real files, nor be widely distributed.
Backup your files before using it.


This release fixes a lot of bugs, and add new features.
The database structure changed and you can't use the previously created database files.
You must create new database from this version.

:arrow: Bugs fixed:
- status bugs
- count in status bar
- '"' in descriptions are correct now

:arrow: Added:
- Database version updated
- CHD support (sha-1) (through arcade.dll plugin)
- CHD fix (not fully tested)
- Vista compatible (fonts, folders, aero)
- Some new vista taskdialog for testing
- Vista open and save files dialogs
- Fastest path loading in drag & drop
- Update of an existing database with a new datafile
- Icons in listview
- Clean up interface
- Change database extension from bin to .rdt (romcenter dat)
- Some operations in threads

:arrow: Download:
- RomCenter 3.00a5 (3.9 MB)

Reports bugs and comments in the dev forum.

How to install it:
- unzip in a directory
- run romcenter.exe
- select files/new...
- follow the wizard to create the database
- wait for creation
- Add rom path
- check, fix etc...

Enjoy
Last edited by RomCenter on Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by RomCenter » Wed Jul 04, 2007 7:27 am

I won't have access to internet during july, so, no chat, sorry.
I will be back in july to see how it goes with this (last ?) alpha.

Thank you for helping
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

davy
Galaga
Galaga
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 8:57 pm

Post by davy » Wed Jul 11, 2007 9:01 pm

The Alpha5 package is missing the file gds32.dll.

Symptoms: executing Alpha5 romcenter.exe results in quick popup but not the start of the application.

Workaround: download Alpha4 and copy it manually to your installation folder.

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by RomCenter » Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:44 am

You're right :?

When I tested, it works. A copy of the dll was probably available somewhere in my system...

You must rename the provided file fbembed.dll to gds32.dll to use the last version of the file.
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

davy
Galaga
Galaga
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 8:57 pm

Post by davy » Sat Jul 28, 2007 8:18 pm

Hi,

why isn't it currently possible to select different DAT's anymore ?
Is it just not completed or will it be removed completely in 3.x ?

Thx,
Davy

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by RomCenter » Sun Jul 29, 2007 7:03 pm

The way dat are handle is a little bit different. Games infos are stored in a database. Once the dats is transfered to the db, it is no more needed.
The difference with rc2 is that dat is replaced by databases.

You must use the standart files/open to select a database. This is more easy for all users, as it is the default in windows. And you can store your databases where you want.
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

cbreaker
Pong
Pong
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:45 pm

Post by cbreaker » Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:50 pm

Although looking around the forum I've found that you've said that this error has been fixed, I'm still getting it on the newest version of RomCenter:

'arithmetic exception, numeric overflow or string truncation'

It happens thousands of times; perhaps one for each ROM zip file it finds.

I've never used RomCenter and this is the first install I ever did. (Although I had to grab that DLL from the Alpha 4 release to make it work.)

It seems to scan the ROMS and it says it found 6300 files but when I click around some ROMS it says they're all missing, so it mustn't have scanned it correctly.

I'm trying alpha 4 to see if it works ant better for me.

----

Update: Same thing happens in Alpha 4.

Oh well, maybe next time..

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by RomCenter » Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:34 pm

What is your OS ?
What is your windows language ?
Does anybody have the same problem ?
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

cbreaker
Pong
Pong
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2007 10:45 pm

Post by cbreaker » Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:40 pm

Sorry, I should have mentioned.

It's Windows Vista Ultimate/English US running on an Opteron CPU with 2GB RAM.

Maybe it's noteworthy to mention that I have a nearly complete .117 MAME (the only emulator I'm trying to get working at the moment) set, minus about 150 CHD's.

Let me know if you'd like to know anything else.

wuemura
Pong
Pong
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:13 pm

Post by wuemura » Sat Oct 13, 2007 12:28 pm

Hello!

I've just register to post this bug, i use the old 2.71 romcenter in my computer (listed in my signature) but i can't start this Romcenter Alpha 5, i can see the splash screen and nothing more, the program dies with no error.

And since is Alpha, i would like to give some sugestions:

1) To make the program to use threads multi-core processors if available for better performance.

2) romcenter only works fine with compressed rom files, if the rom is not compressed and the name is wrong it fixes the file name but do not compress the file, even if i use "compress file" in shell operations it does nothing (v2.71)

3) I have a folder with a complete set of mame roms, since are too much files in it, romcenter crashes and get very slow when i try to update the set with new files. (v2.71)

Thanks.
AMD64 X2 6000+ Windsor - ASUS M2N-E SLI - 4x1GB DDR2 667 Kingston - 800GB Barracuda SATA2 (RAID 0) - Radeon X1650PRO 256MB PCI-E - DVDRW SONY DRU830 - Samsung SyncMaster 730MP - Windows 2003 SP1 Standard

koss
Pong
Pong
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Contact:

Post by koss » Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:53 pm

Is goodmerge supported? If not when will it be?

Koss

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by RomCenter » Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:58 pm

wuemura wrote:Hello!

I've just register to post this bug, i use the old 2.71 romcenter in my computer (listed in my signature) but i can't start this Romcenter Alpha 5, i can see the splash screen and nothing more, the program dies with no error.

And since is Alpha, i would like to give some sugestions:

1) To make the program to use threads multi-core processors if available for better performance.
Doing it is not that easy... I have several ideas to improve performance, but for now, let's test the engine core.
wuemura wrote: 2) romcenter only works fine with compressed rom files, if the rom is not compressed and the name is wrong it fixes the file name but do not compress the file, even if i use "compress file" in shell operations it does nothing (v2.71)
Yes, this is a requested feature and it could appear later.
wuemura wrote: 3) I have a folder with a complete set of mame roms, since are too much files in it, romcenter crashes and get very slow when i try to update the set with new files. (v2.71)
Give a try with the alpha 6.
Anyway, I don't recommend putting several giga in one folder. Try to split your rom. For example, neogeo, cps2, cps3 etc...
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by RomCenter » Thu Oct 25, 2007 8:00 pm

koss wrote:Is goodmerge supported? If not when will it be?

Koss
Yes, some years ago.
But Cowering locked his datafiles to prevent the support.
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

koss
Pong
Pong
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 21, 2007 11:52 pm
Contact:

Post by koss » Thu Oct 25, 2007 10:18 pm

RomCenter wrote:
koss wrote:Is goodmerge supported? If not when will it be?

Koss
Yes, some years ago.
But Cowering locked his datafiles to prevent the support.
Why!? this would be such a great and amazing function! what a jerk

User avatar
RomCenter
Author
Author
Posts: 1294
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2001 12:34 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by RomCenter » Fri Oct 26, 2007 10:09 am

Ask Cowering :(
Eric - RomCenter developer
http://www.romcenter.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest